District Navigation

Main Navigation


US Department of Education National Blue Ribbon Schools 2022 logo
Olentangy Schools

Olentangy High School has been designated an exemplary high performing school and selected as a National Blue Ribbon School for 2022 by the United States Secretary of Education.

Olentangy High School received the National Blue Ribbon honor in 1999, and is one of 297 schools in the nation, and one of just thirteen schools in Ohio, recognized this year.

"I applaud all the honorees for the 2022 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award for creating vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school communities where students can learn, grow, reach their potential, and achieve their dreams," said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. "As our country continues to recover from the pandemic, we know that our future will only be as strong as the education we provide to all of our children. Blue Ribbon Schools have gone above and beyond to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional, and mental health needs. These schools show what is possible to make an enduring, positive difference in students' lives."

“This honor is a result of our staff creating classrooms and learning environments that allow our students to flourish, our parents sending us great kids and supporting the work we do, and our students showing up each day with a positive attitude, valuing themselves and others, balancing their work and schedules, being resilient, and showing empathy for one another,” shared Olentangy High School principal Robert Griffiths following an all-school assembly on Friday, where he announced the award to his staff and students.

This is the National Blue Ribbon Schools’ 39th year honoring schools and educators for overall academic performance. Awards ceremonies will take place in Washington D.C. on November 3 and 4. Tyler Run Elementary School, Freedom Trail Elementary School, Scioto Ridge Elementary School, and Liberty High School are the district’s other National Blue Ribbon award-winning schools.