District Navigation

Main Navigation


About the Board

The Olentangy Board of Education is an elected body created by the Ohio General Assembly. The Board consists of five elected, non-partisan positions. Each member is elected to a four-year term. Members are elected in alternating odd-year elections, with two members elected during one election and three members elected during the other.

Phone: (740) 657-4150
Dr. Kevin daberkow - Board VICE PRESIDENT

Dr. Daberkow was elected to the Board in November 2021. He resides in Powell with his wife Stefanie and their three children. He holds a degree in Political Science, a Masters of Education, an MBA in school finance and economics, and a Ph.D. from Ohio University. Dr. Daberkow has been an elementary educator in Columbus City Schools since 2001, teaches at Ohio University and Ashland University, and is a doctoral advisor and dissertation committee member at Franklin University. In addition to their active involvement at Worthington Christian Church, the Daberkow family enjoys spending time in the community participating in youth sports.

Current term expires: December 31, 2025

Phone: (740) 657-4091
mr. brandon lester - board president

Mr. Lester was elected to the Board in November 2021. He is an attorney currently serving as Senior Associate General Counsel at The Ohio State University, where he specializes in faculty and academic issues, as well as complex matters involving constitutional law, policy, litigation, crisis management, Title IX, compliance, dispute resolution, and more.  Previously, he practiced labor and employment law and litigation in private practice, represented state entities on major appeals in the Appeals Section of the Ohio Attorney General’s Office, and served as a law clerk for the late Chief Justice Thomas Moyer of the Supreme Court of Ohio.  He regularly volunteers in a variety of ways, including providing pro bono legal services, serving as a mentor, coaching youth soccer, and speaking to classes about legal and writing issues.  He and his wife Jennifer are the proud parents of two Olentangy students.

Current term expires: December 31, 2025

Kevin O'Brien, School Board, headshot
Phone: (740) 657-4090
mr. Kevin O'Brien - Board member

Mr. O’Brien was appointed to the Board in 2010 to fill an unexpired term.  He is the SVP, Technology CFO and Chief Procurement Officer for Nationwide, a Fortune 100 company which is one of the largest diversified insurance and financial service organization in the U.S.  Prior to joining Nationwide, Mr. O’Brien worked at Hartford Life and attained his Certified Public Accountant (CPA) designation while working at KPMG in Springfield, MA.  He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management with an Accounting concentration from Westfield State University.  He and his wife Denise live in Westerville with their blended family.

Current term expires: December 31, 2027

Board Member Lizett Schreiber headshot
Phone: (740) 657-4093
Lizett schreiber - Board member

Ms. Schreiber was elected to the board in November of 2023. She resides in Lewis Center with her husband and their four children.  She holds bachelor degrees in political science and theater from the University of Notre Dame, and earned a Doctor of Jurisprudence from the University of Texas School of Law. After nearly ten years in the courtroom with the Columbus City and Franklin County Prosecutor's Offices, Ms. Schreiber shifted to public policy work at the Supreme Court of Ohio. Lizett has also worked on international consulting projects and criminal defense. In addition to her work as a board member at the Columbus Bar Association Alliance, she serves on the Olentangy Schools policy committee and is an Arrowhead Elementary PTO board member.

Current term expires: December 31, 2027 

Phone: (740) 657-4092
dr. libby wallick - Board Member

Dr. Wallick was appointed to the board in June of 2022 to fill an unexpired term. She resides in Powell with her husband and three children. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Middle Level Education from The University of Akron, a Master of Science in Education from Franciscan University of Steubenville and a Doctor of Philosophy in Teacher Leadership from Concordia University Chicago. She has taught in both K-12 and higher education. Since moving to Powell, Dr. Wallick has served as a member of the Olentangy Schools Redistricting Committee and on the boards of the Breast Cancer Fund of Ohio, Living in Liberty and the Olentangy Education Foundation. She is currently a professor in the department of education and psychology at Columbus State Community College.

Current term expires: December 31, 2027