Olentangy Earns Award for Excellent Record Keeping


Olentangy Interim Treasurer Todd Johnson with the Auditor of State Award.

Olentangy Interim Treasurer Todd Johnson has accepted the Auditor of State Award with Distinction in honor of the district’s excellent record keeping.

Kevin Servick with Ohio Auditor Dave Yost’s office presented Johnson with the award during the June 18 board of education meeting. The award is presented to local governments and school districts upon completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award must meet several criteria including incurring no findings for recovery, material citations or material weaknesses.

Servick noted that the state audits about 5,700 local governments and public schools every year and only about 100 earn the award.



Olentangy Teachers Honored at Educators’ Conference


Olentangy teachers recognized during the Connect for Success conference are, from left, Katie Middleton, Holly Crowson, Eric Hanna, Laurie Repko, Katrina Ellis and Jeremy Arend.

The Olentangy Local School District was well represented at the 2013 Ohio Educators Connect for Success conference in Columbus. Six of the 44 teachers recognized at the annual event were from Olentangy.

Hosted by the Buckeye Association of School Administrators (BASA) and Battelle for Kids, the conference brings educators together to collaborate, share best practices and develop strategies to improve Ohio’s education system. During the conference, a select group of teachers were honored for having consistently achieved results in the classroom through value-added data indicating higher- than-expected student growth.

Congratulations to the following Olentangy teachers who were recognized during the conference for their exemplary teaching as reflected in value-added results:

Katie Middleton – Olentangy High School
Holly Crowson – Olentangy Liberty High School
Eric Hanna – Olentangy Shanahan Middle School
Laurie Repko – Olentangy Orange High School
Katrina Ellis – Olentangy Liberty High School
Jeremy Arend – Olentangy Shanahan Middle School

Annual OHMS Film Festival Celebrates Students’ Talents

The fifth annual Hyatts Film Festival drew more than 400 people to the Arena Grand Theatre in Columbus May 20th. The popular event showcases student-made movies and highlights the Eagle News program at Olentangy Hyatts Middle School (OHMS). The films at the festival represent the culmination of more than four months of student preparation. This year’s theme was “Life is Beautiful.”

Congratulations to the following award winners:

  • Best Picture: Emma S. for “Moments.”
  • Best Independent and Best Editing: Nick B. for “After the Storm.”
  • Best Cinematography, Best Teaching and Learning: Kenedy Y., Emily R., Addy F. and Adreanne N. for “Live it While You Can.”
  • Best Sound: Karly I. for “Little Things.”
  • Best Narration: Maddie N. and Ally R. for “Being There.”


Congratulations to Olentangy’s Class of 2013!

Olentangy Local Schools congratulates the Class of 2013.  More than 1,000 students from Olentangy High School (OHS), Olentangy Liberty High School (OLHS) and Olentangy Orange High School (OOHS) made the leap from high school seniors to alumni on Saturday, June 1. The new graduates were awarded approximately $36 million in scholarships. Many have been accepted into and will soon be attending universities including Harvard, Columbia, Cornell, Stanford, Northwestern, The Ohio State University, Ohio University, Miami University, Bowling Green and Columbus State.

And the Invention Convention Winners Are …

Thirty-five students represented Olentangy Local Schools during this year’s regional Invention Convention competition held May 18 at Columbus State Community College. Based on the quality of their invention, six of those students were selected to receive special recognition or college scholarship funds. Those students, the school they attend, the invention they created and their award are:

  • Avery, Scioto Ridge Elementary School, The Dump Stump, $150 college scholarship
  • Caroline, Alum Creek Elementary School, The Sight Stick, $500 college scholarship
  • Brayden, Glen Oak Elementary School, One More Call, Recognized by AEP
  • Brianna, Freedom Trail Elementary School, Back Pack Holder, $50 college scholarship
  • Nicholas, Arrowhead Elementary School, Bacteria Blaster, $500 college scholarship
  • Abigail, Freedom Trail Elementary School, Back Pack Holder, $50 college scholarship

The Olentangy students who participated in the regional Invention Convention are:

  • Brody, Scioto Ridge Elementary School, BRB’s No Spill Tackle
  • Maddie, Olentangy Hyatts Middle School, The Hair Helper
  • Colin, Scioto Ridge Elementary School, Martial Arts Easy Belt
  • Vaishnavi, Olentangy Meadows Elementary School, The Guinea Pig Bottle Quieter
  • Jaycee, Olentangy Meadows Elementary School, Level Buddy
  • Wyatt, Tyler Run Elementary School, Hot Clothing That is Cool
  • Regan, Scioto Ridge Elementary School, The Sucker Savor
  • Daniel, Wyandot Run Elementary School, The Sweeper Plow
  • Dylan, Olentangy Meadows Elementary School, The Buckeye Seal
  • Caroline, Tyler Run Elementary School, Bossinator
  • August, Wyandot Run Elementary School, Raft Backpack
  • Dellan, Liberty Tree Elementary School, Umbrel-Light
  • Rachel, Cheshire Elementary School, O.L.L.I.E. Pins
  • Daniel, Tyler Run Elementary School, ScooteraX
  • Eric, Walnut Creek Elementary School, The One Shoulder Holder
  • Kiernan, Alum Creek Elementary School, Hockey Helper
  • Alex, Oak Creek Elementary School, The Vent Catcher
  • Paige, Indian Springs Elementary School, The Triple S app
  • Natalie, Heritage Elementary School, Retainer Restrainer
  • Coral, Tyler Run Elementary School, Fruity Smells
  • Saket, Olentangy Meadows Elementary School, Super Mail Light Up
  • Callista, Cheshire Elementary School, Dive Xtension
  • Kara, Scioto Ridge Elementary School, Strip Zip
  • Teddy, Alum Creek Elementary School, The Jersey Snap
  • Claire, Tyler Run Elementary School, The Super Snow Shoveling Salt Spreader
  • Korissa, Arrowhead Elementary School, Peachy Speechy
  • Lucas, Olentangy Meadows Elementary School, BP Wise Salt
  • Kendall, Walnut Creek Elementary School, Hot Dog Case
  • Zavier, Freedom Trail Elementary School, The Book Boogie